Don Chedi Monument, Suphan Buri
- Don Chedi Monument, Suphan Buri
- This monument is located in the vicinity of Tambon Don Chedi, Amphoe Si Prachan, 31 kilometers from the township area. The pagoda was constructed by the royal command of King Naresyuan the
Great to commemorate his victory against King Maha Uparacha of Burma in single hand elephant back combat.
- Found in 1913 in ruined condition, only the base part can be seen. It was renovated having a new pagoda to cover the original
one in the year 1952 by the government. A cast statue of King Naresyuan the Great mounting the elephant's neck was placed in fornt of the pagoda.
- Muang Suphan Buri has been properous since the Dvaravati and was formerly called Phanchum Buri. It was constructed during the year 877-882 A.D. on the left bank of
Tha Chin River in the vicinity of Tambon Rua Yai adjacent to Tambon Phihan Daeng.
- Later on when the Phanchum era was over, King Katae (half Thai-half Burmese) was crowned and after ascending to the throne he commanded the town to be moved to the right bank of the Tha Chin River,
to construct Wat Sanam Xhai and to restore Wat Pa Leylai. He then persuaded 2,000 officials to enter the monkhood. The name of the town was then changed to be Song Phan Buri (city of two thousands).
- Later on King U Thong moved the location to the southern bank (west of Tha Chin River ). The city was given a new name as U Thong until the reign of King Khun Luang Pha Ngua when the name was changed to Suphan Buri.
- Suphan Buri had been an important border town involying battles and wars. This caused regular damage through all ages in the past until the Ratanakosin era during the reign of King Rama VI.
Then the Suphan Buri communities were consolidated and settled down on the east bank of the Tha Chin River (Suphan River) as it is now.
Return to the main page